Skip to content

Force of Habit

October 16, 2011

As expressed in the last few posts of the Epiphany Project, I have made a resolution to be wholly altruistic in my life, dedicating myself to the pursuit, consummation, and manifestation of Oneness through Selfless Love for the world and all that is in it. But anyone who has observed me, be they stranger, friend, or family member, would know that I have not been living selflessly, much less have I been unconditionally loving in my behavior or character. So if I am so dedicated to selfless love, why has it not manifested? The answer to this, is the same as the answer to why the world hasn’t ended yet: the world already has, and I already am, but the manifestation of that existence has yet to pass in the tangible (real) world.

The reason why I am not yet tangibly selfless or loving, is because the realization of what needs to done is only the beginning of the journey; as exciting as finally realizing the path I must take, and the necessary mindset I need to live a happy and meaningful life, deciding on and sticking to a direction is only the very beginning. Up until now, I have been a spiritual nomad, wandering aimlessly in search of the right direction to take– the path to the holy water by which to quench my thirst. Now that I know where that path lies, and have committed to taking that path wherever it may leave, I can begin my journey– but that’s just it– the change that has begun in me is only beginning.

The first thing I need to do in this spiritual journey to a life of complete Oneness through Selfless Love, is to correct my selfish habits. I have built up a massive collection of selfishness, and more selfish habits than is even possible for me to list off the top of my head– perhaps even more habits than I could possibly know. To proceed to the next stage of my journey requires cleaning my slate of all that I know– or more accurately, all I thought I knew– as this knowledge has become heavily biased my selfishness and unstable levels of individuality; as such, most of the knowledge (and especially spiritual knowledge) has become useless to me, as it is corrupted with selfishness, and motivated by greed, pride, and extreme arrogance.

My spiritual path must contain none of these qualities; I must lay my spiritual foundation anew, building up within myself habits appropriate to my new spiritual path. Of the habits I must build up in myself, the most essential habits are those impacting the core of my spiritual mind: my thoughts. In the Bible, Paul set up a beautiful template for what kind of thoughts that one in pursuit of spiritual godliness should think of, in Philippians 4:8 —

“…Whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things.”

Starting with modifying my accustomed way of thinking, the mindset with which I perceive things, and the thought patterns according to which I live my life, I must reshape all that is me, to be in alignment with an altruistic character, which is my true self. Only then can I build up the foundations of spiritual purity and love which are necessary for the manifestation of Oneness Through Selfless Love in my own life, just as I have already resolved myself to be.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

