Skip to content

The Essence Of Things Hoped For

November 16, 2010

There are many things in this world that can be rationalized as evolutionary constructs: societal norms, religion, even God; these things promote social solidarity, thus ensure the continual survival and evolutionary development of the human race. But although most of what we know or believe can fall under such a category, there are a few things that cannot, and among such things the most profound of which is the soul. I know through and through that the soul exists, and it’s not because I was conditioned to believe it, but because it is self inherent– one might even call it instinct.

Yet the existence of the soul responsible for the breakdown of the social equilibrium, and interferes with a person’s sense of well-being. It gives us a sense of false-hope, inducing conflict, discord, and hatred. The soul is one of the most powerful means of destruction, being exceeded in its greatness only by God himself. Yet at the same time, it does not promote unity, but division; the soul, although in essence is but one, can only be appreciated when in a corrupted and divided state. What use is such an existence to evolution?

The soul’s only real purpose from what I can tell is to remind us that we are merely human. But what good is that? To truly know what it is to be human, is to break down the constructs of the Ego that uphold the illusions necessary for survival in the first place. If evolution created the soul, then surely the soul must be the greatest of all paradoxes, as the Soul’s only true purpose would be our undoing. The soul, which reminds us of what what wretched creatures human beings are, is the most cruel of all entities; such a being is so cruel that I do not think evolution could have created it even with the most spontaneous of mutations. The soul is too much of a mistake to have evolved; rather, is had to have existed from the very beginning.

The soul, being a mistake that has existed from the very beginning, must be what the Greeks called Pandora. The mistake was then not the creation of the soul, but that such a wretched being was let of of its box in the first place. Having left behind hope, it is then only natural that souls would so desperately cling to us humans, that through the fragile beauty of our existence they might continue on after having lost hope. In this sense, we don’t need souls nearly as much as souls need us.

Why do I insist that souls exist? How do I know that they are not merely a fiction that I, or someone else made up to escape from their reality? How can I believe in something for which there is no proof, and something which clearly I am better off not believing in anyway. What rationale is there in such a belief? It’s actually quite simple: because everything has to come from something. There is no such thing as truly original thought, because everything is based upon experiences, emotions, thoughts, and interacting with these. In other words, if I believe souls exist, there has to be something in reality that supports such an existence, because otherwise I could not have thought of them in the first place.

But this isn’t about logic or rationalizing what I believe in, it’s about faith: “the essence of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.” Although I can rationalize my faith, I have no need to, and merely do so for the benefit of others, and that I might clarify what I believe to those who do not possess such a faith. Even though I may not believe in God, I do believe in the Soul; to be, the purity and power of the Soul is far greater than God could ever be. I recognize that even though there might be a source to what I believe, it is the Origin that makes me believe– I believe because I want to. In this sense, Faith permits us a bit of self-confirmation of freewill– that we believe not because we are conditioned to, or because we have to, but because we want to.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

