Skip to content

Virtue

October 10, 2010

If humanity has value, then surely that value would be manifested as virtue. Virtue is the epitome of maturity, and through virtue one can achieve success, and their success become meaningful. If evil is manifested as weakness, then surely virtue is the proof of strength. From this perspective, virtue is the ability to both fit in with and inspire society and its members; an ability which presently, I am striving to attain.

Take for example, the nature of independence: If a person is passionate about what they believe in, they will have become weak, because they are not dependent upon their beliefs to live; without their beliefs they are nothing, and are thus fragile and vulnerable to attack. By attacking a person’s beliefs directly, their response will not only determine the importance they place on personal values, but also whether they are of virtue, or a slave to their faith. A person of virtue indeed does have faith, but they do not let their beliefs determine their lifestyle, for therein such a route lies weakness and vulnerability, the hazard of which can procreate all kinds of evil; after all, this is the nature of prejudice, which itself is derived from faith.

A virtuous person does not require friendship or even social interaction to survive; rather, he uses social institutions and norms as a facility by which to inspire and improve the world. A virtuous person does not rely upon a means by which to validate his end (faith), but instead lets his end validate the whole of his life (his essence); in other words, a virtuous person “lets his work speak for himself”, rather than fallaciously trying to justify his life with faith or reason.

If virtue is the greatest ideal that one could seek, then surely perceived perfection would be a great leap towards the attainment of a virtuous life. For if one appears to be perfect, this indeed reflects the inner virtue of that person; after all, one can only fake perfection if one knows what perfection is, and such revelation can only be known to the virtuous.

If I let my beliefs determine how I live my life, how I communicate with others, and how I present myself as a person, I am not virtuous. To attain virtue, I must discard my pride that prevents me from being virtuous; the need to project my own beliefs onto others, and onto reality, only serves to reflect my own insecurities and personal lack of virtue. To become a man of virtuous character, I must abstain from the selfish and insecure need to project, express, and display my beliefs, for in the passionate exposure of the nature of my faith I merely make evident my own lack of virtue, and the abundance of inner-corruption.

The path towards virtue requires the abandonment of pride, for Pride is the cause of the greatest of all weaknesses, and is both historically and intrinsically the greatest of all evils. So that I might be at peace with the world, and at peace with myself, I must discard this delimiting and self-corrupting Ego of mine, so that I might transverse the perversions of my own reality and achieve the purity of mind necessary to not only be virtuous, but become virtue itself. Only then will I be able to achieve Oneness, which is the greatest of all virtues.

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. Oneness « NspyraishN

Leave a Reply

