Skip to content

Blameless

October 4, 2010

Likely one of my most controversial beliefs is my denial of evil.

I do not believe in the existence of evil.

I don’t think anyone is evil, nor commits evil.

Finally, I fervently believe that everyone makes the best possible decisions that (from their perspective) they possibly can.

Unfortunately, my belief in the universal goodwill of everyone has caused many grave misunderstandings, particularly when I apply to other aspects of reality, such as friendship. For example, if I say “people are only friends with each other to fulfill their own selfish needs, making any friendship no more than a mutually beneficial agreement to “use” each other. Without exemption, everyone I have told this to has been extremely offended, and completely missed the whole point.

The misunderstandings like these occur because most people do believe in evil, and that there are good people and bad people. They feel that in their friendships they are selfless, and that by emphasizing the needs of others over their own, that they are somehow “better” than those “criminals” and “assholes” that emphasize their own needs. Even my friends and I cannot see eye to eye when it comes to our friendships, because their belief in evil prevents them from seeing their own selfishness, and my denial of evil prevents me from being able to appreciate their self-righteousness.

I blame no one and judge no one, but in doing so I have isolated myself from a judgemental society that seeks to scapegoat anything and everything that interferes with the illusion of justification. By contending that no one is wrong or right, and that everyone is just doing the best that they can, I exile myself from society by indirectly supporting what they believe to be “evil”.

I call upon figures, such as Charles Manson, Stalin, Hitler, and Ted Bundy; I say that I can understand them, and so society groups me with them. They say, “whoever can understand a criminal must be a criminal”, and so it is that I who believes not in evil has been branded evil because I will not justify “good”. If only evil is indiscriminate, then surely I must be evil, because I bear no prejudice or justification.

I do not believe in good either, because what good can there be in selfishness? Everyone has their own reasons for their actions, but whoever tries to justify their lives as being “righteous” are merely revealing their own selfishness, insecurities, and inner-corruption. If you are good, then what need do you have to justify it? If you are righteous, then why do you corrupt your piety selfishly making it known. If you are doing God’s will, is that not already sufficient? I do not claim to be righteous or evil, but only hope that the world will understand as I do that both good and evil are irrelevant in the grand scheme of things.

I believe in Balance and a cosmic karma. I believe that regardless of what you and I do, say, or think, that God’s will, Nature’s will, the Cosmic Consciousness’s Will *will* be done. I believe that regardless of whether our actions are good or evil, or what actions we do at all– it doesn’t matter. Those decisions do no determine God’s plan, they merely determine how much that we appreciate the life we have been given, and what kind of appreciation we have.

There is no good or evil, only inevitability and the opportunity to experience it. If you worry about justifying your own actions, or waste your energy attacking people that don’t conform to your own standards of morality, you are just missing the point, and missing out on appreciating the world you have been born into, and given to experience. Remember, your standards for morality are yours and yours alone, they are far from finite or objective; if they were absolute, what would be the fun in that kind of life anyway? The reason freewill is so meaningful is because neither right or wrong are set in stone. What you believe to be right or wrong is not what God believes– you are only human and your views only represent a distorted fragment of the truth.

As Jesus once said, “judge not lest you be judged”. I may be judged by other people, but I am blameless before God.

I am blameless, not because I have lived a perfect life without sin, or because I went to church every week or piously kept in my studies of His word; not because other people see me as without fault, or because I live a life or charity and altruism;

I am blameless because I do not judge, nor seek to justify myself. I merely live the life that I have been given, and seek to understand and experience this world as much as possible.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 6, 2010 1:26 am

    I first wrote about these concerns in “disrupter”; it can be found here:

    http://etherlust.wordpress.com/2010/09/13/disrupter/

Leave a Reply

