Skip to content

Dead Serious

August 31, 2010

One of the biggest obstacles to my personal success is that I don’t take myself seriously…ever. I try to, but then I either get bored, distracted, or depressed– it’s kinda pathetic. Because if I actually took myself seriously– like, dead seriously, I would get a lot more done. If I lived my life as if success was life or death, I would actually be able to live life to my potential.

But it seems that’s not in my nature, and that’s why that I’m working to change that, with Ego Engineering. I’m also going to college right now, so that I will always be at least a little bit productive. That’s right, IMO college is only a little bit productive, even if it’s fulltime– I have high expectations of myself like that. I’m also thinking of getting a fulltime job, so that I will make some more money to boost my Ego and give me more to live for; while I’m at it, get a girlfriend as well. Either way, I’m going to have to take my life seriously; after all, what meaning is there for someone (like myself) who doesn’t?

Taking yourself seriously (this isn’t just for me you know!) is the key to success. You can’t win a game you don’t genuinely want to, and you cannot help a friend you don’t genuinely care for. If I want to be useful in this world– and more importantly (perhaps!)– if I want to be taken seriously by others, taking myself seriously is prerequisite.

It’s all the little things that I normally take for granted that are holding me back: The body language, the sound of my voice and choice of words, the promises I make or even imply, the consistency of my actions– people notice sh*t like that. I’m not the type to be considerate about what other’s think, but I should at the very least be considerate of what my friends think– otherwise they won’t be friends for long; and, as I expressed most eloquently in my post “Social Vitality”, I won’t be very successful in life without good strong friends that I can count on when in need.

Hopefully this time I will be dead serious, instead of just writing a post about it. I need to start taking myself seriously, and taking others seriously– otherwise, my own life won’t be. To live a life worth living, it should be meaningful, and it seems that taking life “dead serious” is prerequisite to that meaning.

One Comment leave one →
  1. A Reader of th3g1vr since 20 Dec 06 permalink
    September 4, 2010 2:39 am

    This is a burst of brilliance! 🙂

Leave a Reply

