Skip to content

Displacement

August 21, 2010

(This post will be edited further later)

One thing that I’ve found is that for people to be offended is their choice…when I am offended at someone, I don’t blame them for offending me (that would be wrong IMO), I blame myself for getting offended, because there is no reason for anyone to be offended regardless of what is said. I expect the same, and if someone blames me for getting offended, they are only projecting their own insecurities onto me, and are immature as they lack the self-awareness to realize why that they are offended, which would otherwise result in accepting responsibility, knowing that such offense is only caused by ones own insecurities.

I feel very strongly about this, although I admit it can adversely effect how people see me, and causing them to misunderstand me, because they are unable to understand these things as I do.

I do not think that what I did was wrong…it just is considered “wrong” by those who don’t understand where I’m coming from…thus “social skills” is for me “the art of pretending to relate to other people”, or more broadly, “the art of bullshitting people”…this is an artform that is somewhat of a priority for me, but you should understand why that it’s not very high on the list (It’s not in my character to be fake).

But in either case, in regards to whether I am “hurting someone’s feelings” with my words, I must vehemently disagree, because the very notion of a person hurting someone’s feelings is against core principles of my moral code. You can’t hurt another person’s feelings, only cause someone to hurt their own feelings because their pride is incompatible with your words.

If a person believes that their feelings have been hurt by someone else, they are only lying to themselves (in denial), and are unable to face up to the truth: that they are only projecting their own insecurities onto someone else. This is wrong, and I will not encourage, condone, or acknowledge it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

