Skip to content

Copyright of Me

August 13, 2010

For the majority of my life, I have freely expressed my thoughts to everyone around me who seemed even remotely interested in what I had to say; fearing not what people thought of me, or how other’s might react to my words, I’ve unabashedly conveyed my “two-cents” to the world– so much in fact that my “two-cents” is probably worth less than two Somaliland shillings. That’s the very issue addressed by this post: by so uninhibitedly sharing my knowledge with the people around me, I am inadvertently making everything that I say meaningless. What I need to focus on now, is valuing my thoughts as original, creative, and inspiration; what I need is to treat my thoughts as if they were Intellectual Property— after all, that is precisely what they are anyway: Copyright of Me.

Deciding how to communicate with this mindset is actually quite interesting, and causes several valuable notions to surface:

1. What I think is very important.

2. When I share my knowledge with others, it is not merely “data”, but valuable insight.

3. Because my insights are valuable, I should only share it with those worthy of it.

4. “Information is not free”– whenever I share my knowledge with others, it comes at a price, and includes the social equivalents of “license agreements”, “usage rights”, and “royalities.”

5. Sharing information with others equates to trust, because by “offering my services”, I am offering invaluable insider information that could be abused by people for their own gain.

6. Because sharing my insight implies trust, I can utilize the act of sharing knowledge in order to facilitate the development of all kinds of different relationships, leveraging the dynamics of psychological bonding, intimacy, dependability/consistency, and “connections”.

Summing it all up, what I have to say is very valuable, but only if I treat it such. That’s the way that humans are: when something is given away for free, the perception is that it is not very valuable; when something comes at a price, and especially when something comes at a high price, people tend to think of that “something” as more valuable, because price is the direct reflection of value (at least in real life).

I don’t personally agree with the belief that something’s value should be judged by its value (I believe that the most valuable things in life are free), but this is the mindset of Society; if I wish to be appreciated by the World, I have to follow their rules— and one of these rules is the mindset of copyrighting. If I wish to be valuable, I should place a copyright on everything I say, and express myself accordingly.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

