Skip to content

Salvaging Insanity

July 28, 2010

There is a proven scientific link between creativity and mental illness. I don’t know about you, but whenever I think of successful creative geniuses in the world, I think of celebrities. So if celebrities are basket cases deep down, how is it that they are able to become so successful, and be looked up to by society. Mental illness is shunned in the world, and yet celebrities are looked up to as a models for society. So if celebrities are crazy, how do they turn this terrible handicap into success. How do they salvage their insanity?

One word: Sublimation.

In other words, they do it by taking all that excess creative energy, and turning it into something other’s can appreciate. Many (if not most) get lucky in this regard; what they create can already be appreciated in its raw form. I wish I had that luxury; I know of no one who can truly appreciate my work, even when I go to great lengths to make it more understandable.

But regardless of whether you are noticeably insane or not, the ticket to success is to take your creative energy and convert it into a form appreciable by the world. Otherwise it’s just a bunch of compiled thoughts and raw ideas.

This is one of my personal goals; I realized over time that although I am bubbling over with creativity to the point that i don’t know what to do with myself, I lacked a proper understanding of the thoughts and perspectives of other people to convey my “stuff” in a way that people could understand, let alone be inspired by. I need to better understand how people look at life; although I initially thought myself to have much in common with the human race in fundamental values, I’ve realized over time that this is far from the case. Most of the values that drive society are foreign to me; not that I’m not at least mildly familiar with them, but I just can’t see the importance of such things.

I’m an idealist at heart, so in my opinion the standards set, even by the current generation, are far too low. As a result of this gap in values and personal expectations, I have difficulty relating to the average person, and am often resigned to communicating about trivial things, although (ironically!) trivial conversation seems to be important to most people (look at facebook and twitter! utterly useless!)

In particular I don’t get how people bond over the most simple of things. I guess I’m so complicated of a person that I’m failing to see the beauty of bonding over the simple stuff– maybe I am just “afraid” to bond, and so I’m so busy looking for reasons not to that it doesn’t come naturally for me like it does for other people.

I don’t know, but I’m going to have to find out– try to understand…because if I don’t understand Other People, how can I possibly expect them to understand– let alone appreciate me?

That bond– that connection that people share– understand what makes people tick socially is the first step to salvaging insanity; if I want to make my living in the creative arts, I’m going to have to first understand the people to whom I am performing for (the audience); otherwise, the gap between us will stifle, if not completely prevent the transformation of raw creativity into art.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. A Reader of th3g1vr since 20 Dec 06 permalink
    July 30, 2010 2:10 am

    I find this a very intriguing post. Ask me about this when you next see me.

Trackbacks

  1. Social Skills « NspyraishN

Leave a Reply

