Skip to content

Forcing My Hand

July 18, 2010

I’ve got a lot of homework to do, and yet I decide to stay up late, watch movies, and drink alcohol. Why do I choose to indulge in such foolishness, you might ask? Is it escape? No. Am I giving up? Most certainly not. So what’s the point of all this, other than self-sabotage?

Well, let’s just say I’m doing it to force my own hand.

I’ve found that when I feel I have a lot of options, I tend to be productive, while the inverse– no choice, I tend to be more productive. Unfortunately, even when taking two college classes during the summer, I have too much time on my hands, which tends to lead to being unproductive during the weekends. So I figure: why don’t I kill lots of time, so that I can get myself into a tight spot where I have no choice but to give it my all, if anything so that I can get all my homework done in time?

Sounds kinda stupid, doesn’t it?

Perhaps.

But I’ve found that although I do not work well with time constraints, I do work very well under pressure– that’s where I start really shining– when I realize I can’t meet the necessary objectives unless I go all out.

So here’s what I do to accomplish this “pressure”: I play it nice and easy, socializing with friends and family (both offline and online), play games, post blog posts, and watch anime– all the things that I would do if I didn’t have this ginourmous workload.

Then I wait until the last day to do my homework, and I realize that I only have one day left get get 24 hours worth of homework done…this is where the real magic begins!

See, I couldn’t possibly do all this homework under normal circumstances, but that’s only because I didn’t have to. As a result, I would be relaxed in my studying, essay writing, and problem-solving, and would end up making a lot of simple no-brainer mistakes. It’s when I have time to spare that I screw up. When I have no time at all, on the other hand, I perform to my absolute best, because I don’t have a choice.

This, my friend, is the ultimate advantage of forcing one’s own hand!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 1:44 pm

    update: The day after I wrote this, I rushed to do 6 hours worth of math homework in 2 hours. I finished most of it, but didn’t finish the last 15 or so problems…

    What was my grade? ~109% — booyah!

    After turning in my homework that day, I took a test on chapter 4 and 5. Guess what I ended up getting? After all that rushing to finish homework and no time to *actually* study, I got a 98% on that test! Now that’s what I’m talking about :p

Leave a Reply

