Skip to content

Creative Explosion

June 15, 2010

When it came to creativity, I always took it for granted that everyone had creative ability in them– that everyone could think creatively. But as I became engrossed in the media world, exploring the different musical, movie, and literary genres, I became disgusted with how uncreative that the majority of the so-called “creative geniuses” of the world ended up being.

I say “ended up”, because I had no idea that creativity had become so stagnant, until fairly recently. If I had known this before, I would have likely put a lot more energy into exploringa my own creative potential– after all, it’s become exceedingly clear to me that even if I am not a creative genius, I am far more of one than almost anyone else it– because at the very least, my creativity has not become stagnant; if anything, it is accelerating. A creative explosion, waiting to be unleashed.

I have the unique ability to think up just about anything in my head, and communicate it in the form of writing, speaking, etc. To think up an original story in my head, and write down a script, a short story, or even a novel– I could do any of those in a month. I could do several of them in a year.

But to me, original isn’t good enough. It has to be perfect– profound– meaningful. And a story that contains the meaning that I wish to express is not an easy one.

However, having seen how most people are unable to appreciate perfection– to even comprehend beauty– it would seem to be financial suicide to try to make a living at writing truly beautiful stories. The beauty would, for almost everyone but myself, be completely lost in “translation”.

On the other hand, stories that are written completely off-the-top-of-the-head, intuitive bullshit– that’s what most people go for. These kind of simplistic thoughtless stories are what people can “understand” the best. That’s because stories that everyone can relate to is one of the easiest kinds of stories to write. No thought required– no philosophy or research– everyone already knows what you’re talking about, so you don’t even have to worry about choosing the right words.

I could write these kinds of stories without even thinking about it– and once my talent is recognized I would be making a million dollars a month– at least at the rate that I would be writing. Financial stability would be assured.

So why am I not writing these stories already?

It’s because I’m holding back.

I hold back, because I know that those stories will have no meaning for me.

But then again, deep down I know that’s just my Ego talking.

Rather than trying so hard to fabricate literary perfection, why don’t I just go for it? Even if such stories mean nothing for me, it would mean a great deal to other people– and what other people think, that’s more important anyway, right?

With the financial stability that writing for other people instead of myself would bring, I could have the leeway to write my own stories anyway– writing them as a hobby rather than as a way to make money.

It would be a lot easier to write without having to worry about money, anyway.

One Comment leave one →
  1. A Reader of th3g1vr since 20 Dec 06 permalink
    June 15, 2010 2:01 pm

    It is fun watching a creative mind at work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

