Skip to content

Celestial Resolution

June 6, 2010

When I first accepted the Lord into my heart, I was two years old, and was literally standing on the Bible as I sung the B.I.B.L.E.

But although my heart was in the right place at that age, I was to young to understand what it meant to be strong in one’s faith. For me, being a Christian was a given– I knew it was the truth, and the best way to live one’s life…Really, I didn’t have any reasons not to be.

I spent the next 16 years dedicated to the Lord’s work, studying His work, and walking in His ways. But after year 18 rolled around, I started exploring all the other possibilities, and was surprised to find that there were dozens of well-established faiths that I could believe in just as easily as what I had believed in all this time.

So in pursuit of a “better” faith, I renounced my faith, and became an Agnostic. From there, I explored all of the different religions and philosophy, and temporarily became an adherent to many of them, my spiritual loyalty as fickle as a fair weather fan.

In search of a more “cultured” life, I then lead a sinful life, indulging in liberal lifestyle choices, and living as if God didn’t exist.

But 10 months ago, I fell in love, and it was through that love that I began to truly understand what it meant to be a child of God.

These last 10 months, my thoughts would sometimes drift into doubt and anxiety about my girlfriend, but my thoughts would always magnetically return to feelings of love, and of the memories we share.

In the same way, even these last 4 years of spiritual prodigality, I’ve always kept the Lord in my thoughts: writing about him, debating, even writing apologetics in his name. Some of my favorite songs were songs about him.

Even while I was lost, I still loved him deep down, it’s just that I didn’t realize it, not until about a month ago.

I don’t live for the Lord to be accepted, to avoid Hell, or to go to Heaven.

I just want to have a relationship with my creator, and show Him how thankful I am for creating me by living my life for Him. I want to walk in His ways, and become perfect, just as He is perfect.

For me, there is no better purpose than the one given to me by God, and although I don’t know how I will get there or everything that I will do in the coming years, I’m very much looking forward to it.

In the coming years, I anticipate the miracles that God will perform in my life, and through my life. God will make a masterpiece of my life– I just need to let Him.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

