Skip to content

Kaizen

February 26, 2010

Kaizen is a Japanese word and philosophy that has been adopted into American culture. The Japanese word “kaizen” means simply “improvement,” and in management it means, more broadly, continuous improvement in small increments. (excerpted from Wikipedia).

That’s what I need more of in my life– Kaizen. The lack of this essential discipline is the one single thing that is preventing me from succeeding in my life.

I have a horrible tendency to get ahead of myself in life, thinking about abstract concepts and ideals, and filling them up with suger-coated bullshit to compensate for the fact that in all truth, I have neither that knowledge, skill, or experience to back it up, much less implement it.

Because I am an impatient person, I lack the disciplines of planning, goal-setting, priorities, and self-organization– not to mention the acquisition of directly relevant knowledge.

If I could learn to slow down, listen, absorb, and learn about these things– one at a time, in order of what information is most essential at a given time, then I would be so much more successful.

I need to learn to attack the problems strategically, decisively, and agressively.

To improve myself one day at a time, one problem at a time, one prerequisite at a time– incremental and pro-active self-improvement, then through my adherence to Kaizen I will truly be successful, and everything I want in life will become a reality.

I need to stop bullshitting myself into the notion that getting ahead of myself is good planning (in reality it’s not planning at all)…and start truly living life– one item on the proverbial agenda at a time.

It might seem that I’m accomplishing less in the short run, but in the long run, a good disciplined life such as this can only result in me accomplishing great things, profound thing, impossible things.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Phineas Whoopee permalink
    March 26, 2014 7:44 pm

    Bullshit

Leave a Reply

